ARC Review: This Savage Song by Victoria Schwab

ARC Review: This Savage Song by Victoria Schwab
ARC Review: This Savage Song by Victoria Schwab

This Savage Song

Written by Victoria Schwab
(Greenwillow Books - 7/5/2016)
Series: Monsters of Verity #1
Genres: Fantasy, Young Adult
Format: eARC (464 pages)
Source: Edelweiss
Rating: 4 Stars

Add it: Add it on Goodreads Add it on BookLikes
Buy it: Buy it on Amazon Buy it on Book Depository Buy it on Audible Buy it on Kobo Buy it on B&N Buy it on IndieBound
There’s no such thing as safe in a city at war, a city overrun with monsters. In this dark urban fantasy from acclaimed author Victoria Schwab, a young woman and a young man must choose whether to become heroes or villains—and friends or enemies—with the future of their home at stake. The first of two books, This Savage Song is a must-have for fans of Holly Black, Maggie Stiefvater, and Laini Taylor.

Kate Harker and August Flynn are the heirs to a divided city—a city where the violence has begun to breed actual monsters. All Kate wants is to be as ruthless as her father, who lets the monsters roam free and makes the humans pay for his protection. All August wants is to be human, as good-hearted as his own father, to play a bigger role in protecting the innocent—but he’s one of the monsters. One who can steal a soul with a simple strain of music. When the chance arises to keep an eye on Kate, who’s just been kicked out of her sixth boarding school and returned home, August jumps at it. But Kate discovers August’s secret, and after a failed assassination attempt the pair must flee for their lives. In This Savage Song, Victoria Schwab creates a gritty, seething metropolis, one worthy of being compared to Gotham and to the four versions of London in her critically acclaimed fantasy for adults, A Darker Shade of Magic. Her heroes will face monsters intent on destroying them from every side—including the monsters within.
FTC Disclosure: This book was provided to me from the author or publisher (Edelweiss), free of charge, with the understanding that my intention is to read it and provide feedback in the form of an honest review. I am not compensated in any way in exchange for positive reviews, and I don’t let anything other than the book's contents affect my opinions and review.

My Thoughts

This Savage Song has so many elements that I love — elements of a story that Victoria Schwab so wonderfully captures in her writing. The world is rich and dark. The people are desperate and corrupt and earnest and heartbreaking. The harmonies that drove this story forward were haunting, expertly leading my emotions along a treacherous rollercoaster ride.

It’s always interesting to watch a story unfold when you get attached to main characters on opposite sides of an intense conflict. Right away I was ready to kick some ass with no-nonsense Kate Harker; meanwhile August gently made my heart ache with his vulnerability and desire to prove himself. The people — the characters — each one felt like a real person with their own history, desires, faults, motives. Each one was dangerous and made me want to know them better all the same.

This is probably the darkest of all Schwab’s books so far (at least that I’ve read), and I have to say that it definitely made an impact! At times, I was made uncomfortable, and at times I felt like wailing in agony because—OMG this CAN’T be happening! I’m telling you, you’re in for a treat with this one. It’s the kind of story that will leave your heart aching for days, and then you’ll want to read it all over again.

I can’t wait for this book to be out in the world, because it comes with a high recommendation from me! I’m pretty much convinced that Victoria Schwab can do no wrong.

 

Read 3 comments

  1. Seems like people either love or hate this book (which seems to be the way with all of the author’s books). But all my favorite book reviews seem to love it, so I can’t wait to read it! :) (I do love a character-driven story with flawed, realistic people)

Leave a Reply